Administration of New Children’s Hospital reforms

The configuration of the Council and the Board of the New Children’s Hospital Foundation will change as of 20 April 2022. Having served as the Chair of the Board since the establishment of the Foundation, Anne Berner is leaving the Board as her terms of office have come to an end in accordance with the rules of the Foundation. The Board and the Council of the Foundation would like to thank the long-serving Chair for her work for the Foundation and New Children’s Hospital.

The New Children’s Hospital Foundation has appointed parliamentarian and former Minister of Education and Culture Sanni Grahn-Laasonen as its new Chair.

“I cannot think of a more meaningful task. New Children’s Hospital is a hospital for all children in Finland, facilitating care for severely ill children across the country. Born from an extensive and unified public movement, the children’s hospital is now in operation, but our work is far from done. We will continue to maintain and develop the world’s best children’s hospital alongside HUS, allocating more and more resources to the funding and facilitation of the development of research and care in paediatric medicine,” Grahn-Laasonen says.

Her hope is that the Foundation will continue to find new partnerships and forms of cooperation.

The vision of the Foundation entails developing the best children’s hospital concept in the world. This includes promoting research, education and specialisation in paediatric medicine in Finnish and Swedish.

“One of the core operations of the Foundation is facilitating the development of research and treatment methods for paediatric diseases, and it is great that the new Chair is parliamentarian Sanni Grahn-Laasonen, who has know-how in and experience with education and research,” comments Chair of the Nominating Committee Anne Berner.

The other members of the Board are Johan Aalto, Marja-Leena Rinkineva, Pekka Vauramo, Rauha Tulkki-Wilke, Jussi Mertsola and Antti Larsio.

Jenni Haukio will continue as the Chair of the Council, the other members being Siri Kolu, Helena Ranta, Eero Huovinen, Kari Raivio, Tuula Colliander, Kalle Hoppu, Tarja Lähdemäki, Meeri Haataja and Lilli Paasikivi-Ilves.

The Nominating Committee of the Foundation consists of Sanni Grahn-Laasonen, Jenni Haukio, Kari Raivio and Johan Aalto.

Anne Knaster will serve as the Authorised Representative and Project Director of the Foundation.


The foundation is the developer and property owner of the New Children’s Hospital. The foundation will continue to operate actively even after the completion of the building.

Read more


Without private funding, the building of the New Children’s Hospital would have been delayed far into the future – together we have built something truly valuable.

Read more


The foundation’s vision, goals and purpose.

Read more